Sunday, January 1, 2012

2012 National Regular, Non-Working and Special Holidays

As  early  as November 24 and released on December 1, 2011, President Benigno S. Aquino III issued Proclamation 295 declaring 10 regular holidays, five special non-working holidays and a special holiday (all schools) for 2012.

Noted in the said proclamation are the celebration of Chinese New Year and November 2 as additional special working holiday.  Accordingly, Chinese New Year was included as a manifestation of our solidarity with our Chinese Filipino brethren who have been part of our lives in many respects as a country and as a people.  23 January 2012 may be declared as a special (non-working) day without detriment to public interest.

November 2 on the other hand falling between Thursday, 1 November 2012 (All Saints Day) and Saturday, has been traditionally declared a special (non-working) day throughout the country to give full opportunity to our people to properly observe All Saints Day with all its religious fervor which invariably requires them to travel to and from different regions in the country.  Like the Chinese New Year, it may also be declared as a special (non-working) day without detriment to public interest the document emphasized.

The following regular holidays and special days for the year 2012 shall be observed in the country:

A. Regular Holidays
  • New Year's Day - January 1 (Sunday)
  • Maundy Thursday - April 5
  • Good Friday - April 6
  • Araw ng Kagitingan - April 9 (Monday)
  • Labor Day - May 1 (Tuesday)
  • Independence Day - June 12 (Tuesday)
  • National Heroes Day - August 27 (Last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day - November 30 (Friday)
  • Christmas Day - December 25 (Tuesday)
  • Rizal Day - December 30 (Sunday)
B.  Special (Non-Working) Days
  • Chinese New Year - January 23 (Monday)
  • Ninoy Aquino Day - August 21 (Tuesday)
  • All Saints Day - November 1 (Thursday)
  • Additional special (non-working) day - November 2 (Friday)
  • Last Day of the Year - December 31 (Monday)
C. Special Holiday (for all schools)
  • EDSA Revolution Anniversary - February 25 (Saturday)
  • Eid’l Adha (Islam Feast of Sacrifice) – to be announced later 
  • End of Ramadan (Eid’l Fitr) – to be announced later
Post a Comment